



MEMORANDUM

To: Faculty, Staff, and Students, Department of Political Science

From: Professor William A. Gough, Vice-Principal Academic & Dean

Date: 4 November 2022

Re: Call for Nominations for the Advisory Committee on the Appointment of a

Chair, Department of Political Science

Note: For distribution broadly

Professor Christopher Cochrane will complete his term as Interim Chair of the Department of Political Science on 30 June 2023. In accordance with Section 12 of the <u>Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators</u> (Perron Rules), as a first step in the process, I am writing to call for nominations of individuals to serve on the Committee that will advise on the appointment of a new Chair.

The *Policy* mandates the potential composition of the advisory committee as follows:

- the Dean or the Principal or representative who shall chair the committee;
- three to five members of the teaching staff of the department;
- the Dean of the School of Graduate Studies or representative;
- one or two members of cognate departments;
- one or two students;
- a Vice-Dean or Associate Dean of the Faculty or College, where appropriate; and
- a librarian, where appropriate.
- In addition, the committee may include an alumnus/a, a member of the administrative staff and, in the case of professional faculties or schools, a senior member of the appropriate professional community.

Nominations for membership on the Advisory Committee including a brief rationale should be sent to Fefe Wong, Manager Academic HR, at academichr.utsc@utoronto.ca no later than 14 November 2022. The committee membership will be announced once it is approved by the Provost.