

## **MEMORANDUM**

To: Faculty, Staff, and Students, Department of Biological Sciences

From: Professor William A. Gough, Vice-Principal Academic & Dean

Date: 23 November 2022

Re: Advisory Committee and Call for Nominations: Chair, Department of Biological Sciences

Note: For distribution broadly

Following a <u>call for nominations</u> for the Advisory Committee on the appointment of a Chair of the Department of Biological Sciences, I am pleased to announce the membership as follows:

- William A. Gough, Vice-Principal Academic & Dean (Chair), U of T Scarborough
- Jessica Fields, Vice-Dean Faculty Affairs, Equity & Success, U of T Scarborough
- Vina Goghari, Vice-Dean, Research & Program Innovation, School of Graduate Studies, University of Toronto
- Shelley Brunt, Associate Professor, Teaching Stream, Department of Biological Sciences, U of T Scarborough
- Christina Guzzo, Assistant Professor, Department of Biological Sciences, U of T Scarborough
- Nathan Lovejoy, Professor, Department of Biological Sciences, U of T Scarborough
- Nicholas J. Provart, Professor & Chair, Department of Cell & Systems Biology, University of Toronto
- Steven M. Short, Associate Professor & Chair, Department of Biology, University of Toronto Mississauga
- Mauricio Terebiznik, Associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences, U of T Scarborough
- Sarah Shujah, Liaison Librarian, Biological Sciences, U of T Scarborough
- Karolyn Keir, Lab Manager, Department of Biological Sciences, U of T Scarborough
- Connor Crawford, Undergraduate Student, Department of Biological Sciences, U of T Scarborough;
  Director of Biological Sciences, Scarborough Campus Students' Union

For the success of the selection process, the input of faculty, staff, and students to the Advisory Committee is crucial. You are invited to submit, in writing, the names of individuals you feel have the attributes we should be looking for in a Chair. Please briefly indicate the reasons for your nominations.

Your submissions will be held in confidence and made known only to Committee members. These should be sent to the attention of Fefe Wong, Manager Academic HR, at <a href="mailto:academichr.utsc@utoronto.ca">academichr.utsc@utoronto.ca</a> no later than 1 December 2022.